Jane Campbell Moriarty Receives the 2011 Scholar of the Year Award


Professor Jane Campbell Moriarty received the 2011 Scholar of the Year Award at The University of Akron School of Law 2011 commencement ceremony. Members of the Akron Law Review select the recipient of this award. This year, the students selected Moriarty on the basis of her nationally recognized contributions to the legal community, which includes four books with a second edition of her casebook coming out this year, 16 articles and essays, with two more currently in progress.  

 “Professor Moriarty is a leader within the academic community and an expert on scientific evidence,” said Jacqueline T. Walsh, executive editor of the Akron Law Review. “She has chaired two symposia in the past three years. She has spoken at 29 national and international conferences and symposia, with two more scheduled this year, and has presented at 28 other regional conferences and CLE programs.”

Professor of Law and Director of Faculty Research and Development, Jane Campbell Moriarty, joined the School of Law in 1997. She currently teaches Evidence, Expert Evidence, Employment Discrimination and Professional Responsibility. Moriarty received her B.A., summa cum laude, from Boston College where she was elected to Phi Beta Kappa and awarded the Bapst Philosophy Medal. She earned her J.D., cum laude, from Boston College Law School, where she served as managing editor of the Boston College Third World Law Journal. Prior to joining the Akron Law faculty, Moriarty practiced law in Boston and Pittsburgh and clerked for The Honorable Ralph J. Cappy, Justice of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania. Moriarty is author of numerous publications including Expert and Scientific Evidence: Cases and Materials (Aspen Publishers, with Professor John M. Conley) and Misconvictions: When Law and Science Collide (NYU Press, forthcoming 2011-12). She chaired the Neuroscience, Law and Government Symposium in fall 2008, which was held at The University of Akron. She was the recipient of the Outstanding Professor of the Year Award in 2002 and in 2008.