Students working together in class at The University of Akron

A tradition of excellence

Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences is the largest and oldest degree-granting college at The University of Akron.

Providing a world-class education in bachelor's, master’s and doctoral degree programs, Buchtel College also provides the majority of general education courses for the university.

Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences is named for John R. Buchtel (1820-1892), an Akron industrialist who helped establish Buchtel College in 1870, the predecessor to The University of Akron. The Buchtel College of Liberal Arts was formed in 1913 when Buchtel College became a municipal university.

Buchtel College is home to 20 schools and departments, 10 centers and institutes, and four special programs.

Our Commitment to Diversity

The Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences is committed to advancing an inclusive community in which everyone is welcomed, respected, valued and heard. We believe our community is enriched by diversity along a number of dimensions, including race, ethnicity, nationality, gender, gender expression, sexuality, class, disability, religion, and political ideology/identification. We acknowledge the historical and current structural inequities that present challenges to both the access and success of historically disadvantaged groups. We have developed specific goals and key strategies to strengthen inclusion, diversity, and equity and belonging within our college community.

Dean's office

Mitchell S. McKinney


portrait of a student in the Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences

Our history

Our History

Contact us

Contact Us