Alan Newman

Alan Newman

Title: Emeritus Professor of Law
Office: Room 317
Phone: 330-972-5859
Fax: 330-972-7337
Selected Works - bepress:
Curriculum Vitae: Download in PDF format


Professor of Law Alan Newman joined the faculty in 1996. He teaches courses in wills, trusts and estates and accounting and finance from a lawyer's perspective. Professor Newman received his bachelor of accountancy, as well as his J.D. degree, from the University of Oklahoma. He was the valedictorian of his law school class, a member of the Order of the Coif and the articles editor of the Oklahoma Law Review.

After law school, Professor Newman clerked for the Honorable Thomas Gibbs Gee, of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, before entering private practice in Oklahoma City. Professor Newman is a member of the Oklahoma Bar Association, the Ohio State Bar Association and the American Bar Association. He also is an academic fellow of the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel and a certified public accountant.

Professor Newman is a member of the Editorial Advisory Board of the Probate Law Journal of Ohio and recently served as the reporter for the Joint Committee on the Ohio Trust Code of the Legal, Legislative, and Regulatory Committee of the Ohio Bankers League and the Estate Planning, Trust, and Probate Law Section of the Ohio State Bar Association. His recent publications include Bogert, Trusts and Trustees (volume containing sections 961-974), Thomson West, third edition (2010); Revocable Trusts and the Law of Wills: An Imperfect Fit, 43 Real Property, Trust and Estate Law Journal 523 (2008); Zimmerman v. Zirpolo Trust: The Beneficiary's Right to Information, 22 Probate Law Journal of Ohio 214 (May/June 2012); Trust Modification or Termination for Unanticipated Circumstances, 22 Probate Law Journal of Ohio 135 (January/February 2012); and The Uniform Trust Code: An Analysis of Ohio's Version, 34 Ohio Northern University Law Review 135 (2008). Professor Newman was voted Outstanding Professor of the Year in 2012, 2011, 2007, 2001, 2000 and 1998.

Outstanding Professor of the Year 2007.