Title IX at The University of Akron

Do you need help? See this page.

What is Title IX?

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits sex discrimination in educational programs and activities. Title IX provides: “No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.”

Sexual harassment (which includes sexual violence and assault) is a form of sex discrimination and therefore a violation of Title IX. Specific behaviors that are prohibited by Title IX include, but are not limited to, sexual assault, sexual battery, sexual exploitation, and other forms of non-consensual sexual activity; stalking; and relationship violence that is gender-based. Title IX also prohibits discrimination of pregnant and parenting students. Many behaviors that violate Title IX also constitute crimes. Title IX provides for the equitable treatment of all individuals at the University, including in admissions, grading of student coursework, and in athletics.

Interim Gender-Based Misconduct and Title IX Policy &amp Protocol

Title IX leadership at The University of Akron

To ensure compliance with Title IX and other federal and state civil rights laws, the University has a designated University Title IX Coordinator. The coordinator is charged with monitoring compliance with Title IX and ensuring that reports of sex discrimination, sexual harassment and sexual violence are investigated and addressed by the University.

Any student, faculty or staff member with questions or concerns about the applicable University policies or who believes that he or she has been the victim of sex discrimination, sexual harassment or sexual violence is encouraged to contact The University of Akron's Title IX Coordinator.

Services and support for branch campuses are integrated. Students attending classes at branch campuses including The Wayne College and the Medina County University Center are provided the same support and resources as all University of Akron students and are welcome to seek services at whichever location is most convenient.

Title IX team

Title IX coordinator

Jolene A. Lane
Vice President for Inclusion and Equity, Chief Diversity Officer and Title IX Coordinator
Buchtel Hall 209
(330) 972-7522

Deputy Title IX coordinators

Deputy Title IX Coordinator for Students
Michael Strong, Dean of Students
Student Union, Room 152
(330) 972-6048

Deputy Title IX Coordinator for Regional Campuses
Gordon Holly, Assistant Dean of Student Success
Wayne Campus, Boyer HPE Building, Room E242
(330) 972-8740

Deputy Title IX Coordinators for Athletics
Anne Jorgenson, Associate Athletic Director, Student Athlete Academic Services
James A. Rhoades Health and PE Building, Room 181
(330) 972-8555

Candace Smith, Associate Athletic Director, Internal Operations
James A. Rhoades Health and PE Building, Room 76
(330) 972-6280

Deputy Title IX Coordinator for the School of Law
Charles Oldfield, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs and Director of Legal Writing, School of Law
Dean’s Suite Room 105, School of Law
(330) 972-6750

Deputy Title IX Coordinator for Employees
Michelle Yeager
Assistant Director, HR Operation and Employment
Administrative Services Building, Room 138
(330) 972-7300


Investigators for Student Concerns
Dale Adams, Jr.
Director of Student Conduct & Community Standards
Simmons Hall 302
(330) 972-2580

Derek Kemph
Student Conduct Hearing Officer
Simmons Hall 302
(330) 972-5794

Deborah Novak
Assistant Director, Student Conduct & Community Standards
Simmons Hall 302
(330) 972-8646

Susan White
Coordinator, Student Conduct & Community Standards
Simmons Hall 302
(330) 972-7011

Investigator for Employee Concerns
Tami Hannon
Director, EEO/AA
Administrative Services Building, 138
(330) 972-7300

Police Investigator
Jason Hill
Police Officer / Detective
Physical Facilities Op Center
(330) 972-5455

Hearing officers

J. Dean Carro
Professor of Law, Emeritus

Carolyn Dessin
Professor of Law
McDowell Law Center 241
(330) 972-6358

Willa Gibson
Professor of Law
McDowell Law Center 316
(330) 972-6132

John Matejkovic
Professor of Law, Retired