2024 Dean’s Excellence Awards Celebration: College of Business


The College of Business (CoB) is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s Dean’s Excellence Awards. These awards celebrate the significant contributions of our faculty and staff to the CoB community and beyond.

Since 2008, the CoB has acknowledged exceptional faculty achievements in research, teaching, and service. Awardees, selected by a committee of their peers, receive a commemorative plaque and are honored at the annual CoB year-end event. The awards recognition has since expanded to include staff excellence and the exceptional engagement of a CoB Advisory Board member through The Roger T. Read Advisory Board Engagement Award.

Held at nearby House Three Thirty, the CoB celebrated several promotions, career milestones and other accomplishments, followed by a presentation honoring the following Dean’s Excellence Awards recipients.

2024 Teaching Excellence Award: Mr. David Payne, Associate Professor of Practice, Department of Marketing
This award recognizes consistent faculty excellence in teaching and service to students. It identifies and recognizes teachers who effectively enhance student learning and demonstrate a high level of knowledge, skills, and commitment to student learning, motivation, and development.

2024 Research Excellence Award Dr. Siqi Ma, Assistant Professor, Department of Management
This award recognizes excellence in research and scholarship and is based on scholarly and professional work of exceptional quality and significance.

2024 Service Excellence Award: Mr. Mark Welfley, Associate Professor of Practice, George W. Daverio School of Accountancy
This award recognizes consistent faculty excellence above and beyond the call of duty in service to the department, college, and university.

2024 Staff Excellence Award: Mr. Mark Rittenour, Senior Director, Business Communication & Executive Affairs
This award recognizes the impact and contributions of CoB staff on the overall quality of the college through significant and sustained service.

2024 Dean’s Positive Impact Award: Lisa Littlejohn, Assistant Director, Fisher Institute of Professional Selling
This award recognizes an individual whose influence has been instrumental in fostering positive change within the college.

The Roger T. Read Advisory Board Engagement Award: Mr. Jordan Pana, Marketing Junior Advisory Board
Recognizes outstanding service and engagement in the College of Business by a CoB advisory board member.

College of Business Summer Research Grant Recipient
Dr. Siqi Ma – “Face-to-Face Strategic Interactions: The Secret to Supply Chain Collaboration”

Bernat Family Endowed Fellowship
Dr. Taufiq Quadria – research on requirements of high school students to complete a course in financial literacy
Dr. Li Wang – research on legal liability, client dependence, and audit quality

Finance Advisory Board Faculty Research Award
Dr. Jinjing Wang – “The Effects of Consumer Litigation Finance on the Price of Liability Risk”