UA honored again for commitment to diversity


For a third time, The University of Akron has been recognized by the Commission on Economic Inclusion for its campus-wide progress in creating, enhancing, and sustaining diversity and inclusion strategies. Businesses and organizations are chosen for Commission 50 recognition based on their responses to the annual Employers Survey on Diversity™ conducted by the commission, which is a program of the Greater Cleveland Partnership.

Commission 50 logo

Their scores are tabulated based on four metrics:

  • Board Diversity
  • Senior Management Diversity
  • Workforce Diversity
  • Supplier Diversity

The organizations chosen for the Commission 50 designation (25 for-profit and 25 nonprofit/government) have the highest combined scores from among the 99 that participated in the survey.

“We are pleased again to be a recipient of this recognition,” says Lee Gill, associate vice president for inclusion and equity/chief diversity officer. “It speaks volumes to the continued efforts of our leadership, faculty and staff to serve northeast Ohio.”

Honorees include the Cleveland Clinic, MetroHealth System, WEWS-TV, Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority, NASA Glenn Research Center, The Sherwin-Williams Company, FirstEnergy and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Higher education honorees, in addition to UA, were Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland State University, Cuyahoga Community College and Kent State University. See the full list online.