UA professors named outstanding researchers


Dr. Aigbe Akhigbe, acting chair, professor of finance/Frederick E. Moyer Chair of Finance, and Dr. Shi-Qing Wang, professor of polymer science, were presented Outstanding Researcher Awards by the University of Akron Research Foundation.

Dr. Aigbe Akhigbe

Selected by a committee of former outstanding researchers, Akhigbe and Wang each will receive $2,000 for future research funding and as personal honorariums.

Aigbe Akhigbe

Akhigbe was chosen to receive the honor for his influence in research, particularly in commercial bank efficiencies and regulatory reform. Akhigbe received a Bachelor of Science in Petroleum Engineering at Nigeria’s University of Ibadan, a Master of Science in Engineering at the University of Louisiana, and a Master of Business Administration and Doctor of Finance at the University of Houston.

A UA faculty member since 2000, Akhigbe's research interests include corporate finance, financial markets and institutions, and investments.

A list of published articles and awards showcasing Akhigbe’s worldwide leadership recognition can be found at

Shi-Qing Wang

Dr. Shi-Qing Wang

Wang was selected as an outstanding researcher for his research in nonlinear rheology, his graduate student mentorships and his success in attracting National Science Foundation funding.

A fellow of the American Physical Society, Wang has research interests in polymer physics and engineering, rheological and rheo-optical properties of polymermelts, blends and solutions, polymer dynamics, fracture and mechanical properties of polymers, among others.

Wang received a Bachelor of Science in Physics at Wuhan University of China and a Doctor of Physics at the University of Chicago. Wang's credentials are highlighted on his website, available at

About The University of Akron Research Foundation

The University of Akron, with the approval of its Board of Trustees, established The University of Akron Research Foundation (UARF) in December 2001 to promote, encourage and provide assistance to the research activities of University faculty, staff and students. For further information, visit

Media contacts: Andrea Ehasz,, or Drew Williams, 330-972-7661 or, or Denise Henry, 330-972-6477 or