Political Science/ Bliss Institute Scholarship Opportunities

Scholarships are competitive.  The best strategy is to understand the application requirements and process for scholarship and funding opportunities.  Students from a wide variety of backgrounds compete successfully for these scholarships.

Graduate Scholarship

The Dr. Young H. Cho Endowment for Master of Applied Politics
Established in 2014 and revised in 2023 to direct support to the MAP program, after the University halted PAUS instruction

This scholarship was established to honor Dr. Young Cho for his accomplishments as an outstanding professor and chair of the Department of Public Administration and Urban Studies (PAUS). 

Selection Criteria:

  • Open to both returning and incoming fully-admitted, unfunded MAP students
  • Demonstration of activity in the community through social engagement or political activity

Note: Graduate students with assistantships are not eligible for the award.


Undergraduate Scholarships

Who is Eligible Eligibility Deadline Application
Incoming first year students Students who are attending UA starting Summer/Fall 2024 directly out of high school or have not attended school since high school Final Deadline: February 4, 2024, at 11:59 p.m.

Applications are closed.

Questions:  kh1@uakron.edu 

Current undergraduate political science students Students currently enrolled as a political science student Final Deadline: February 4, 2024, at 11:59 p.m.

Applications are closed.

Questions: kh1@uakron.edu 

The Ray C. and Ellen P. Bliss Scholarship
Established in 1982

This scholarship was established under the will of the late Ray C. Bliss, Class of 1935. Ray Bliss was a former member and chairman of The University of Akron Board of Trustees and served as a national chairman of the Republican Party.

Selection Criteria:

  • Political science majors
  • Preference to students from Summit County
  • Preference to Phi Kappa Tau Fraternity (Ray Bliss' fraternity)
  • Demonstration of high scholastic ability, citizenship, moral character, promise, and leadership skills

The George W. Pruet Memorial Scholarship Fund
Established in 1988

This scholarship was established to honor the high standards for scholarship and interest in law that characterized Dr. Pruet's career as a teacher and scholar.

Selection Criteria:

  • Graduating senior political science majors
  • Interest in the study of law
  • Demonstration of high academic achievement and law related extracurricular activities

The Alberta Hensley Scholarship
Established in 2006

This scholarship was established as a fitting tribute to Alberta Hensley's personal and professional service to The University of Akron.  

Selection Criteria:

  • Political science majors
  • Preference given to female students
  • Volunteer experience in politics at the local, state, or national level
  • Minimum GPA of 2.50

The Dr. Richard S. LeFevre Endowed Scholarship
Established in 2012

This scholarship was established by his wife Mary Stowe LeFevre to honor her late husband and his friendship with Mr. Ray C. Bliss. Dr. Richard S. LeFevre was an Associate Professor of Urban Studies and Sociology from 1973 to 1970 at The University of Akron.  

Selection Criteria:

  • Upper-level students in the Ray C. Bliss Institute of Applied Politics
  • Completion of 60 credits
  • Demonstration of high-quality work

The Rosemary Titmas Wright Scholarship
Established in 2014

Rosemary Titmas Wright, an Akron native, graduated from Buchtel High School in 1954 and The University of Akron in 1958 with a B.A. with distinction in English.  Mrs. Wright is grateful to The University of Akron for giving her the opportunity to earn a college degree and build a successful career.  Her affinity for The University of Akron and belief in the importance of higher education led her to establish this scholarship.

Selection Criteria:

  • Participation in the Ray C. Bliss Institute of Applied Politics
  • Minimum GPA of 3.25
  • Completion of 36 credits
  • Demonstration of community service work, high moral and ethical character, and be politically conservative

The Dr. John C. Green Endowed Scholarship
Established in 2019

This scholarship was established in honor of Dr. John C. Green who served The University of Akron ably, faithfully and well as a teacher, scholar, colleague and administrator. Dr. Green impacted the University and led its diverse advancement from many vantage points over his 32-year career.

Dr. Green led the Ray C. Bliss Institute of Applied Politics wisely and with great energy as its inaugural director in 1988, inspiring many generations of politicians and practitioners of politics, many of whom occupy legislative offices at the local, county, state and federal levels. He remains involved with the Bliss Institute in his role as Director Emeritus.

Selection Criteria:

  • Full-time undergraduate students
  • First consideration to students in the Ray C. Bliss Institute of Applied Politics

Scholarship Questions Include:

  • Commitment to political process
  • Political activities
  • Campus/community activities
  • Awards & achievements
  • Essay about how a scholarship will help you attain your personal goals and political interests (500-word limit)

Kim Haverkamp

Other Opportunities:

Undergraduate Students:

Graduate Students: