Students rack up scholarship money during annual Edward G. Elias Bowling Tournament


The Edward G. Elias Bowling Center in the Student Union Gameroom was bustling October 27 and 28, as University of Akron students competed for scholarship money in the third annual Edward G. Elias Scholarship Bowling Tournament.

University of Akron students who were winners in the 2012 Edward G. Elias Scholarship Bowling Tournament surround Peggy Elias. The annual tournament, now in its third year, honors Peggy's late husband, Eddie, a UA alumnus and founder of the Professional Bowlers Association.

The competition – the only collegiate bowling scholarship tournament in the country – was inspired by the late Eddie Elias, an Akron native, proud UA alumnus, and founder of the Professional Bowlers Association. His widow, Peggy, has been instrumental each year in coordinating the event, which is free to enter and open to all University of Akron students.

In all, 12 tuition scholarships were awarded to the top three male and female bowlers in two divisions.

The University of Akron is grateful for support from Peggy Elias, as well as the following individuals and companies, whose financial sponsorships made the tournament possible:

TITLE SPONSOR: Chesapeake Energy

Eddie DeBartolo, Denise Debartolo York

Corrine Reichert, Nancy Herwick

Earl Anthony Bowling Inc., Dennis and Kimberly Falasco, Berman and Miriam Shafer, Kappa Sigma Fraternity, Thirsty Dog Brewing Co., Frank and Diane Zoeller Jr.

Leonard Nicholson, William and Terri Brunsdon, Elizabeth Alessio, Alpha Gamma Delta Sorority, Diamond Grille, Robert and Marion Nemer, Frederick and Marion Pierce, Distillata Water Company

Congratulations also to the tournament winners, who are listed with their three-game scores:

Division I - Men
1. Matt Blake, 649
2. Tim Robertson, 587
3. Austin Smith, 554
Division II - Men
1. Michael Minnick, 520
2. Steve Brodecky, 478
3. Greg Jackson, 476
Division I - Women
1. Monica Metts, 489
2. Samantha Schooley, 447
3. Kayleigh Bracht, 447
Division II - Women
1. Carissa Signore, 453
2. Marie Zwierlein, 444
3. Lauren Fuller, 365 

Read more about the tournament and view photos in the Akron Beacon Journal.