Ph.D. in Counseling Psychology


The University of Akron offers a Counseling Psychology Program (CPP) housed in the Department of Psychology. Established in 1983, the program is accredited by the American Psychological Association. It is distinctive in that it uses an apprenticeship model to provide solid generalist training in counseling psychology to students of diverse backgrounds and has a strong focus on social justice.

The CPP program was recently recognized for its strong diversity focused training program by winning the 2023 Council of Counseling Psychology Training Programs (CCPTP) award for Diversity, Inclusion, and Advocacy. Additionally, Dr. Suzette L. Speight, professor of psychology and director of training for the doctoral program in Counseling Psychology, received the 2023 CCPTP Lifetime Contribution to Education and Training Award (


All students who are seeking admission to the program will apply through the Department of Psychology. For specific admissions requirements and eligibility, please see the admissions page.

Program Emphasis

Program emphasis is strongly placed on a scientist-practitioner model of training. Beyond the basic core areas of psychology, students are expected to establish specific competencies in the areas of theory, research, and practice of counseling psychology. Academic preparation includes theories of psychotherapy, supervision, diversity issues in counseling psychology, vocational psychology, testing theory and practice, research and statistics, and professional issues. Research and publication are greatly encouraged. Graduates typically seek out academic teaching, research, and training positions, as well as positions in counseling centers and other mental health agencies.

Meet our current students


The Counseling Psychology Program is accredited by the American Psychological Association.

The following states accept APA accredited doctoral programs as meeting the educational requirements for licensure in that state: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wyoming.

The following states require additional education and experience in addition to graduation from an APA accredited program to meet the educational requirements for licensure in that state: Alaska, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin.


Questions related to the program’s accredited status should be directed to the Commission on Accreditation:

  Office of Program Consultation and Accreditation 
  American Psychological Association 
  750 1st Street, NE, Washington, DC 20002 
  Phone: (202) 336-5979 / E-mail: