Adult National Honorary Society: Alpha Sigma Lambda

ASL Torch

Alpha Sigma Lambda is

  • Hard Work
  • Academic Quality
  • Motivation
  • Successful Personal Growth
  • Intelligence
  • Leadership to Serve
  • Resilience
  • Happiness
  • Group Identity

Alpha Sigma Lambda National Honor Society is a nonprofit organization devoted to the advancement of scholarship and to the recognition of non-traditional students continuing their education. The Society was established in 1945-46 to honor superior scholarship and leadership in adult students.

It recognizes the special achievements of adults who accomplish academic excellence while facing competing interests of home and work. The Society not only brings together outstanding students and faculty, but also offers each individual an exposure to interests other than his/her own. It is dedicated to the advancement of scholarship and recognizes high scholastic achievement in an adult student's career.

Induction into Alpha Sigma Lambda is by invitation only, and students eligible to be inducted into this honorary need to fulfill the following requirements:

  • 25 years of age or older
  • 3.5 GPA or higher (the top 10 percent of this group is eligible for induction)
  • 30 credit hours completed

2013 Induction Ceremony

On Monday, March 18, the Gamma Chapter held its annual induction ceremony along with a dessert reception in the Student Union. 

Inductees in attendance:
Tammy Berg, Anita Christine Finucane, Sheryl Grubb, Robin Hadnett, Tirzah Harper, Kathryn Hiney, Lalasa Pollard, Michelle Wages

Inductees not in attendance:
Jason Adlon, Theresa Bellefant, Rauslynn Boyd, Dana Costanzo, Tamara Howard, Kevin Kane, Carita Keim, Nicole Laramee-Dannery, Millie Pejnovic, Nan Steinmetz, Lori Wood.