Ohio College Comeback Compact

The University of Akron is excited to be a part of the Ohio College Comeback Compact, an innovative program to help students who left college without a degree continue their education. In collaboration with seven public colleges and universities in Northeast Ohio, we are reaching out to students who had to stop attending school because they owe money to their former college or university. Together, we are providing a path back to higher education and an opportunity for these students to reduce or eliminate their debt.

This program is open to eligible students who previously attended any of the eight participating institutions, have been out of college at least a year, maintained a 2.0 cumulative GPA before they left, and owe the institution $5,000 or less:

  • Cleveland State University
  • Cuyahoga Community College
  • Kent State University
  • Lakeland Community College
  • Lorain County Community College
  • Stark State College
  • The University of Akron
  • Youngstown State University

Qualifying students can register for classes at any of these institutions. As they make progress toward a degree or certificate, students can get up to $5,000 in debt owed to their former college or university forgiven.

To check your eligibility or need to more information, please contact the Adult Focus office at 330-972-5793 or email us adultfocus@uakron.edu.

For more about the program, please visit the Compact’s website at https://ohiocollegecomeback.org.