Interfraternity Council (IFC)

The University of Akron is home to 24 fraternities and sororities.  

13 of the fraternities belong to a student-run governing body known as the Interfraternity Council (IFC). The Interfraternal community is home to over 450 individuals, with each chapter made up of diverse, intelligent, and successful fraternity men. The community is currently home to 13 chapters of both local and national fraternities. These chapters include: Alpha Sigma Phi, Kappa Sigma, Lambda Chi Alpha, Lone Star, Phi Delta Theta, Phi Gamma Delta (FIJI), Phi Kappa Psi, Phi Kappa Tau, Phi Sigma Kappa, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Sigma Nu, Tau Kappa Epsilon, and Theta Chi. 

Purpose: The purpose of the Interfraternity Council shall be to develop and maintain fraternity life and interfraternity relations at a high standard of accomplishment and in doing so: perpetuate fraternity life on The University of Akron campus, act in the best interest of all members of the Council, and promote service to the Greek, campus, and surrounding communities.