DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS

It's better to be roughly right than precisely wrong.

JOHN MAYNARD KEYNES


About Us  |  Academics  |  Faculty & Staff  |  Research  |  Careers  |  Scholarships  |  Alumni & Giving 


ACADEMIC PROGRAMS

Contact the Economics Department

Information for Alumni

NEWS

ECONOMICS PROGRAM EARNS NATIONAL RECOGNITION
We have been recognized for excellence by The Financial Engineer in a recent national ranking of 157 schools that offer a terminal master’s degree in economics. Full story.


JOIN US ON FACEBOOK
Dr. Weinstein
now has our department Facebook page up and running!  FaceBookFollow us for department news, interesting articles and upcoming seminars and events. (9/2015)


ALUMUS HONORED BY FIRSTENERGY
Congratulations to Economics Department alum, Tom Dolezal (BA 2009, MA 2011), who was awarded one of six FirstEnergy’s President’s Award, presented to employees who show leadership, innovation and commitment. Tom is an Analyst III, Retail Tariff Analysis & Forecasting at FirstEnergy and was recognized for automating and stream-lining a process that calculates metered but unbilled sales and revenue.  Keep up the good work, Tom!!


PROFESSOR PROFILED BY UNIV OF KANSAS
Economics Department Associate Professor Dr. Sucharita Ghosh was profiled this spring 2015 in the University of Kansas, Department of Economics, Alumni newsletter, The KU Economist. Dr. Ghosh earned both her her master’s and her doctoral degrees at Kansas. Read KU’s profile here.


JeffMurphy2015ALUMNUS EXCELS AT DOMINION EAST OHIO
We congratulate economics department alumnus, Jeff Murphy, who was promoted to Vice President at Dominion East Ohio and now leads the Ohio operations. Jeff earned both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in economics at here. He began his career at the former East Ohio Gas Company in 1986 and has held a variety of positions and leadership roles. Jeff continues to be active in guiding the course of the department as a member of the Economics Department Advisory Board.


More news

THE DILLEY FAMILY ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP

Mr and Mrs DilleyThe Department of Economics is grateful for David and Lessia Dilley’s gift to establish  The Dilley Family Endowed Scholarship in Economics. In 1973, David received his Bachelor  of Arts degrees in Economics and Political Science.  He serves on both the Economics Department Advisory Board and The University of Akron National Alumni Board of Directors.

A&S Building

MEMBERS OF THE FACULTY

Faculty office hours

Full-time faculty

FacultyOfficePhoneEmail
Dr. Banerjee CAS 451 330-972-7548 hbanerjee@uakron.edu
Dr. Erickson CAS 441 330-972-7973 ee2@uakron.edu
Dr. Ghosh CAS 446 330-972-7549 sghosh1@uakron.edu
Dr. Kukeli CAS 444 330-972-7440 akukeli@uakron.edu
Dr. Myers CAS 445 330-972-7421 myers@uakron.edu
Dr. Nelson CAS 454A 330-972-7939 nelson2@uakron.edu
Dr. Renna CAS 447 330-972-7411 frenna@uakron.edu
Dr. Weinstein CAS 450 330-972-7975 aweinstein@uakron.edu

Adjunct teaching faculty

Mr. Blank CAS 455 330-972-7546 dmblank157@gmail.com
Mr. Blazunas CAS 456 330-972-7546 peter.blazunas@gmail.com
Mr. Bragg CAS 456 330-972-7546 TBragg@portageco.com
Ms. Nawari CAS 453 330-972-7133 fnawari@uakron.edu
Mr. Tarr CAS 453 330-972-7133 mtarr@uakron.edu
Dr. Sheppard CAS 455 330-972-5821 shep@bright.net
Mr. Szilagyi CAS 456 330-972-7546 jcs14@zips.uakron.edu

Adjunct research faculty

Dr. McGuire CAS 456 mcguire@uakron.edu