DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS

It's better to be roughly right than precisely wrong.

JOHN MAYNARD KEYNES


About Us  |  Academics  |  Faculty & Staff  |  Research  |  Careers  |  Scholarships  |  Alumni & Giving 


ACADEMIC PROGRAMS

FaceBook

Contact the Economics Department

Information for Alumni

NEWS

DALTON KONOP WINS 3rd PLACE!

FedPosterApril2016

Congratulations to Economics Department student Dalton Konop (first one from the right in the picture), who won third place for his economic research in the poster competition held at the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland on April 29, 2016. Dalton's research was titled The Effect of Grants for Higher Education on Crime: Differentiating Need and Merit-Based Aid. The competition was sponsored by the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland and the University of Akron Economics Department. Dalton was one of five students from the UA Economics Department who entered the competition along with fourteen other students from Ohio and western Pennsylvania colleges. The Cleveland Fed has been partnering with the University of Akron's Department of Economics to host the competition each spring since 2009.


ECONOMICS PROGRAM EARNS NATIONAL RECOGNITION
We have been recognized for excellence by The Financial Engineer in a recent national ranking of 157 schools that offer a terminal master’s degree in economics. Full story.


JOIN US ON FACEBOOK
Dr. Weinstein
now has our department Facebook page up and running!  FaceBookFollow us for department news, interesting articles and upcoming seminars and events. (9/2015)


ALUMUS HONORED BY FIRSTENERGY
Congratulations to Economics Department alum, Tom Dolezal (BA 2009, MA 2011), who was awarded one of six FirstEnergy’s President’s Award, presented to employees who show leadership, innovation and commitment. Tom is an Analyst III, Retail Tariff Analysis & Forecasting at FirstEnergy and was recognized for automating and stream-lining a process that calculates metered but unbilled sales and revenue.  Keep up the good work, Tom!!


PROFESSOR PROFILED BY UNIV OF KANSAS
Economics Department Associate Professor Dr. Sucharita Ghosh was profiled this spring 2015 in the University of Kansas, Department of Economics, Alumni newsletter, The KU Economist. Dr. Ghosh earned both her her master’s and her doctoral degrees at Kansas. Read KU’s profile here.


JeffMurphy2015ALUMNUS EXCELS AT DOMINION EAST OHIO
We congratulate economics department alumnus, Jeff Murphy, who was promoted to Vice President at Dominion East Ohio and now leads the Ohio operations. Jeff earned both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in economics at here. He began his career at the former East Ohio Gas Company in 1986 and has held a variety of positions and leadership roles. Jeff continues to be active in guiding the course of the department as a member of the Economics Department Advisory Board.


More news

THE DILLEY FAMILY ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP

Mr and Mrs DilleyThe Department of Economics is grateful for David and Lessia Dilley’s gift to establish  The Dilley Family Endowed Scholarship in Economics. In 1973, David received his Bachelor  of Arts degrees in Economics and Political Science.  He serves on both the Economics Department Advisory Board and The University of Akron National Alumni Board of Directors.

Department of Economics, part of The College of Business Administration

MEMBERS OF THE FACULTY

Faculty office hours

Full-time faculty

FacultyOfficePhoneEmail
Dr. Erickson CBA 320 330-972-7973 ee2@uakron.edu
Dr. Ghosh CBA 312 330-972-7549 sghosh1@uakron.edu
Dr. Kuchibhotla CBA 321 330-972-7440 dkuchibhotla@uakron.edu
Mr. Litt CBA 311 330-972-7548 wlitt@uakron.edu
Dr. Myers CBA 323 330-972-7421 myers@uakron.edu
Dr. Nelson CBA 310 330-972-7939 nelson2@uakron.edu
Dr. Renna CBA 324 330-972-7411 frenna@uakron.edu
Dr. Weinstein CBA 322 330-972-7975 aweinstein@uakron.edu

Adjunct teaching faculty

Mr. Blank CBA 301 330-972-7546 dmblank157@gmail.com
Mr. Blazunas CBA 301 330-972-7546 peter.blazunas@gmail.com
Mr. Bragg CBA 301 330-972-7546 TBragg@portageco.com
Mr. Fritsch CBA 301 330-972-7546 nickf314@gmail.com
Mr. Madonia CBA 301 330-972-7546 madonia@zips.uakron.edu
Ms. Nawari CBA 301 330-972-7133 fnawari@uakron.edu
Mr. Tarr CBA 313 330-972-7133 mtarr@uakron.edu
Dr. Sheppard CBA 313 330-972-7133 shep@bright.net
Mr. Szilagyi CBA 301 330-972-7546 jcs14@zips.uakron.edu

Adjunct research faculty

Dr. McGuire CBA 301 mcguire@uakron.edu