Executive Vice President and Provost

Executive Vice President and Provost search timeline

Date Event
Oct. 9, 2019 Reorganized the Office of Academic Affairs and established the position of Executive Vice President/Provost.
Oct.14 The search committee (listed below) was established and given its charge by President Gary L. Miller.
Oct. 25 Two listening sessions led by search chair Dr. Paul Levy were broadly attended by university community members. An online survey was posted so that the campus community could share preferences with the committee.
Nov. 4 Interim Executive Vice President and Provost Joe Urgo appointed.
Nov. 7 Job opening ad and prospectus posted and available publicly.
January/February 2020 Review of interested individuals and initiation of off-campus interviews.
February/March Identification of interested individuals for on-campus interviews and open forums.
April 2 Dr. John Wiencek named executive vice president and provost. He will start his duties May 29.

With the approval of The Board of Trustees, a search committee comprised of representatives of faculty, students, administrators, contract professionals, staff, and elected leaders of major constituency groups, conducted the national search for an executive vice president/provost.

The committee, outlined below, was chaired by Dr. Paul Levy, professor and chair of the Department of Psychology. Questions may be directed to Dr. Levy.

Committee members

Dr. Paul Levy, Professor of Psychology and Chair of the Department of Psychology, Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Sheldon Wrice, Associate Dean, Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Julie Zhao, Assistant Dean, College of Engineering

Dr. James Thomson, Professor of Finance and Chair of the Department of Finance, College of Business Administration

Dr. Judith Juvancic-Heltzel, Associate Professor and Interim Chair, School Sport Science and Wellness Education, College of Health Professions

Dr. Abraham Joy, Associate Professor of Polymer Science, College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering

Dr. Nidaa Makki, Associate Professor of Curricular & Instructional Studies, LeBron James Family Foundation College of Education and co-director of the Urban STEM Center.

Professor Willa Gibson, School of Law

Dr. Angela Hartsock, Associate Professor of Biology, Wayne College

Dr. Nichole Hunka, Associate Professor of Instruction, College of Applied Science and Technology

Dr. Linda Saliga, Professor of Mathematics, Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences; Chair of Faculty Senate

Ruth Nine-Duff, Senior Business Analyst, College of Applied Science and Technology: Chair of University Council

William Cole, Assistant Vice President for Principal Gifts, Department of Development; Chair of Contract Professional Advisory Committee (CPAC)

Michele Novachek, Coordinator, Center for Gift & Estate Planning, Department of Development; Chair of Staff Employee Advisory Committee

Mark Okocha, President of Undergraduate Student Government

Dr. Pamela Schulze, Professor of Child & Family Development, Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences; President of Akron Chapter of the American Association of University Professors