Political Science/ Bliss Institute Scholarship Opportunities

Scholarships are competitive.  The best strategy is to understand the application requirements and process for scholarship and funding opportunities.  

The Ray C. and Ellen P. Bliss Scholarship
Established in 1982

This scholarship was established under the will of the late Ray C. Bliss, Class of 1935. Ray Bliss was a former member and chairman of The University of Akron Board of Trustees and served as a national chairman of the Republican Party.

  • This scholarship is awarded to full-time undergraduate students majoring in political science with preference given to students from Summit County and Phi Kappa Tau fraternity.

The George W. Pruet Memorial Scholarship Fund
Established in 1988

This scholarship was established to honor the high standards for scholarship and interest in law that characterized Dr. Pruet's career as a teacher and scholar.

  • This scholarship is awarded to an outstanding graduating senior political science major with an interest in the study of law.

The Alberta Hensley Scholarship
Established in 2006

This scholarship was established as a fitting tribute to Alberta Hensley's personal and professional service to The University of Akron.  

  • This scholarship is awarded to students majoring in political science, with preference will be given to female students. 

The Dr. Richard S. LeFevre Endowed Scholarship
Established in 2012

This scholarship was established by his wife Mary Stowe LeFevre to honor her late husband and his friendship with Mr. Ray C. Bliss.

Dr. Richard S. LeFevre was an Associate Professor of Urban Studies and Sociology from 1973 to 1970 at The University of Akron.  Dr. LeFevre received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Swathmore College, a Master of Arts degree from Duke University and Doctor of Philosophy degree from The University of Pennsylvania.  Before coming to The University of Akron, Dr. LeFevre taught at Tufts University, Northeastern University and the University of Miami.  He was a facilitator of interest groups for the Association of Humanistic Sociology.

  • This scholarship is awarded to upper level students in the Ray C. Bliss Institute at The University of Akron.

The Rosemary Titmas Wright Scholarship
Established in 2014

Rosemary Titmas Wright, an Akron native, graduated from Buchtel High School in 1954 and The University of Akron in 1958 with a B.A. with distinction in English. While a student at The University of Akron, Mrs. Wright was a member of Alpha Phi Delta honorary, an A-Key award recipient, a Pierian Award winner, was consistently on the Dean’s List and was awarded several scholarships. Mrs. Wright earned an M.A. in English from Florida Atlantic University in 1982.

Mrs. Wright taught preschool and elementary school in Ohio and Florida. In 1982, she returned to Ohio where she held administrative positions at Buckingham, Doolittle and Burroughs Law Firm from 1983 – 2003.

Mrs. Wright is grateful to The University of Akron for giving her the opportunity to earn a college degree and build a successful career. She is a strong supporter of all things Zips, she is an avid sports fan and regularly attends Akron football, basketball and soccer events. Her affinity for The University of Akron and belief in the importance of higher education led her to establish this scholarship.

  • This scholarship is awarded to full-time undergraduate students who value community service, have high moral and ethical character and are politically conservative.

The Dr. John C. Green Endowed Scholarship
Established in 2019

This scholarship was established in honor of Dr. John C. Green who served The University of Akron ably, faithfully and well as a teacher, scholar, colleague and administrator. Dr. Green impacted the University and led its diverse advancement from many vantage points over his 32-year career.

Dr. Green led the Ray C. Bliss Institute of Applied Politics wisely and with great energy as its inaugural director in 1988, inspiring many generations of politicians and practitioners of politics, many of whom occupy legislative offices at the local, county, state and federal levels. He remains involved with the Bliss Institute in his role as Director Emeritus.

Dr. Green earned a Bachelor of Economics degree from the University of Colorado in 1975 and a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Political Science from Cornell University in 1983.

The Dr John C. Green Endowed Scholarship perpetuates Dr. Green’s legacy of positive influence upon students, graduates, colleagues, peers, legislators, community and business leaders; and it upholds his example for future generations of students.

  • This scholarship is awarded to full-time undergraduate students at The University of Akron, with first consideration for students of the Ray C. Bliss Institute of Applied Politics.

Scholarship Application

Deadline: April 14, 2023

Recipients are notified in July

Students from a wide variety of backgrounds compete successfully for the scholarships.

Application Process:

Award Criteria:

  • GPA (Overall & Political Science)
  • Commitment to political process
  • Political activities
  • Campus/community activities
  • Awards & achievements
  • Essay about how a scholarship will help you attain your personal goals and political interests (500-word limit)

Kim Haverkamp

Other Opportunities:

Undergraduate Students:

Graduate Students:

Support the Bliss Institute

Our students graduate with lower debt thanks to the scholarships that you support.

Donate Today